Forums

Building.co.uk Forum The UK's leading construction site

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Building regs expert needed - RSJ, single skin wall etc
16-08-2010, 03:30 PM
Building regs expert needed - RSJ, single skin wall etc
Newbie here.

Some work was done on my house without planning permission in 2003 before I bought it. For whatever reason I wasn't made aware of the lack of consent when I bought the house but that's another story....

Work that was done: Kitchen knocked into dining room, RSJ installed. Kitchen also knocked into rear "coal shed", second RSJ installed.

I'm going through the regularisation process but wondered if anyone can tell me if this work would have passed building regs in 2003. Particularly concerned about single skin wall and change to habitable use of that coal shed.

Thanks!

Jim
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
16-08-2010, 06:08 PM (This post was last modified: 16-08-2010 06:23 PM by Dr Rob.)
RE: Building regs expert needed - RSJ, single skin wall etc
No! In answer to direct question.

To Regularise you will need to consider the following at least:
Material change of use.
Part A, structure not invoked however, don't bank on this since if the loadings are increased then it is "worse than it was before" and Part A can be called up. So expect a trial hole to see foundations, and roof exposed to see if the rafters are not overspanned carrying any extra loading i.e. plasterboard.
Internal, insulated stud work on a DPC will suffice if the external walls are OK - subject to point above.
Structural calcs for the steels. Expose both to confirm sizes.
Part B. Did the stair case (if any) discharge into the old Dining room. If so, I'd argure that all 1st floor rooms are now inner rooms off of the Kitchen - the most likely seat of fire, so expect to see at least interlinked smokes and a heat detector in Kitchen area. Also check MOE windows of 1st floor rooms.