Feedback

Forums

Building.co.uk Forum The UK's leading construction site

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Getting a CSCS card for labouring
22-06-2012, 01:19 PM
Getting a CSCS card for labouring
Hi. I am a student hoping to do some general labouring over the summer to pay the bills.

I know you usually need a CSCS card for labouring, so I've booked a health and safety test for tomorrow (CITB test for operatives), but now I've realised that the website says I also need an NVQ level 1 in construction for a green card?

Do I really need this in order to get a simple labouring job? Is there any other way to get a CSCS card without doing a qualification? I've done a bit of manual lifting in other capacities before. I just want to get going and start earning really
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
24-06-2012, 12:15 PM
RE: Getting a CSCS card for labouring
er what is the point of a card without qualification showing competance ?
Another something for nothing

Depending on the company most domestic sites do not require cSCS cards - that is one of the reasons there are so many accidents on those sites that coupled with untrained part time labourers and builders ( collectively called idiots in our offices) .

This weeks personal collection

Untied and ladder too short sliding against steel beam
bending over and cutting paving slabs without eye protection , gloves or stopping public walking directly past
Hand dig excavations without shuttering approx 2m deep adjacent existing foundations at higher level

i have only been to two sites this week
26-06-2012, 04:44 PM
Well I completed my first day of labouring today - manually lifting plastic sheets across a stadium roof as part of a team.